WRBH Reading Radio Logo, click to return to home page
"Reading Fine Print."
                    

Doll Baby

Doll Baby by Laura Lane McNealFEATURED FICTION

“When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.
 
For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.
 
For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.
 
By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.” (via Amazon)

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick

WRBH’s Best Selling Fiction program airs Monday through Friday at 11AM (with an encore at 9:30PM). Your reader for this book is Carolyn.

Leave a reply

Sign up for Our Newsletter
WRBH Daily Broadcast Schedule
Featured Books
* = required field
Coming up next...
  • The Magazine Rack Tuesday, 11:00-12:00

View Full Daily Schedule
A Gentleman in Moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow

Featured Best-Selling Fiction Monday – Friday @ 9am-10pm / 10pm – 11pm The mega-bestseller with more than 1.5 million readers that is soon to be a major television series One of five Summer 2019 reading picks by Bill Gates “The novel buzzes with the energy of numerous adventures, love affairs, [and] twists of fate.” —The

RSS Feed Symbol - RSS Feed follows The New Orleans Advocate

  • Max Johnson named LSU's starting quarterback as Myles Brennan undergoes surgery
    Published onin 4 hours
  • Golden moment! Former LSU star Mondo Duplantis vaults to Olympic gold medal in Tokyo
    Published onin 3 hours
  • Rabalais: Amid shocking injury news, you wonder if Myles Brennan will ever start for LSU again
    Published on9 hours ago
  • LSU quarterback Myles Brennan suffers left arm injury and will undergo surgery
    Published on11 hours ago
  • LSU commitment Walker Howard picks up No. 1 ranking, Tigers pick up recruit No. 1 for 2023
    Published on12 hours ago
  • Nungessesr hopeful for tourism; blasts coastal plan again
    Published on12 hours ago
  • LSU gains first 2023 recruit with commitment from receiver Omarion Miller
    Published on14 hours ago
  • Gov. John Bel Edwards reissues indoor mask mandate for Louisiana. See what's covered.
    Published on14 hours ago
  • Skip Bertman tests positive for COVID; family encourages vaccinations amid spike in cases
    Published on15 hours ago
  • Former LSU standout Michael Cherry, UL's Morgann Leleux Romero earn spots in Olympic finals
    Published on20 hours ago

Untitled Document
Want to listen to WRBH while you browse?
(*This will open a pop-up window that will begin playing our live broadcast - please disable pop-up blockers to proceed.)

LISTEN LIVE

Featured Sponsor:
New Orleans Silversmiths Logo
WRBH 88.3 FM, Radio for the Blind and Print Handicapped, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and is the only full-time reading service on the FM dial in the United States. At WRBH, our mission is to turn the printed word into the spoken word so that the blind and print handicapped receive the same ease of access to current information as their sighted peers.

facebook logo - click to go to our facebook page Twitter logo - click to go to twitter page


3606 Magazine Street
New Orleans, Louisiana 70115
Email: Listen@WRBH.org | Fax: 504.899.1165
website designed by HERO|farm
Pending Certifications:
ISO, Section 508 Compliant